September 11, 2001 is one of those days that every one of us will remember.  I’m sure we all remember where we were or what we were doing when we heard of the attacks on the World Trade Center.  I remember it vividly.

My husband and I were living with his parents in Southern California.  We woke up to Bobby’s brother bursting into our room and telling us that the United States was under attack, he had a sense of urgency in his voice.  Still trying to shake of the fog of sleep I jumped out of bed, envisioning military tanks rolling up and down the streets.  I scooped up our 11 month old daughter and hurried to the living room.  The television was tuned into the Today Show where they were broadcasting the horrible events of that day.  As we all remember everyone was confused and disturbed by what we were seeing and hearing.  It was a nightmare. 

As the day progressed our disbelief turned to horror and fear.  I remember that Bobby had to go to work and how scared I was to be left alone.  Bobby’s parents were out of town and they could not fly home, so they rented a car and drove back to California from Washington State.  I remember having to run an important errand.  The streets were empty and people were afraid.  What a horrible day.  You could feel the pain of those who suffered in those attacks, even on the West Coast.

For all of us our pain and fear quickly turned to anger and vengance.  The United States acted swiftly and decidedly.   Our country united in a common goal; to avenge the lives of those senselessly taken on that dark day. 

When I think of September 11, 2001 and the senselessness of it, I can quickly become discouraged.   But it is reassuring that God is in control and he will enjoy ultimate justice.  I am so happy to know that we worship a God grace, justice and fairness.  He is all powerful and holds the universe in his hands!  Amazing.  So, as you remember Sept 11 today, remember that God is in control and nothing that happens is out of his perfect plan for you and for the entire universe!  Thanks for reading!

