A few years ago I was going through a very difficult time and a very dry time, spiritually. I was resisting God’s desire to use that difficult time to “grow me up” spiritually. One day I was getting into the car to go grocery shopping and as I headed out, I heard the very last part of a sermon by Alistair Begg. He was talking about human suffering. One thing he said hit me square between the eyes! In his thick Scottish brogue he said, “If all you get is sunshine, then all you get is desert.” In other words, we all need some rain in order to have a lush, green garden in our life. As humans, however, we don’t like the rainy times of life. We prefer sun, lots of sun! But too much sun dries things out, kills vegetation; creates a parched earth. I like what Pastor Begg said, it is Biblical and true, “If all you get is sun, then all you get is desert.” Isaiah 43:19 “See, I am doing a new thing! Now it springs up; do you not perceive it? I am making a way in the desert and streams in the wasteland. ”

