Weeds are insidious. They grow even when nothing else is growing. Take for example the brown lawns scattered throughout our neighborhood this summer. The lush green grass has faded to a crunchy brown but dotted throughout are nice green weeds, thriving in the heat and drought!

I hate weeds! As a gardener they are my arch rival. I am constantly picking them. They never go away. I pick and pick, but they always come back! Maybe not the same ones, but new ones inevitably poke their laughing heads up as if to scoff at me. Even if I spray them with weed killer, it only promises to keep them away for up to 4 months. They are pesky, stubborn little things and inhibit my beautiful flowers from being the truly beautiful things that they are meant to be.

You probably see where I am going with this. Weeds are like sin. I think of this every time I go out to weed my flowerbeds. What kinds of weeds do I have growing in my life? Well, let me tell you, my heart, tongue and mind are in constant need of a good weeding! And it seems I am constantly fighting the same weeds! The same sins keep popping up! Sin, like the weed, is insidious. And like weeds, I hate sin!

How do we have victory over these sins in our lives? Well, remember that verse you memorized in kindergarten? “I have hidden your Word in my heart, that I might not sin against you.” Psalm 119:11 This is the key to overcoming continual sin or struggling with the same sin over and over again. READ THE WORD! It may sound too easy. I don’t want to oversimplify it; it isn’t easy. Our own sinfulness often keeps us from spending the time we ought to in the Word (I am often guilty of this) and of course the Enemy is well aware of our weaknesses and seeks to exploit them. But, these are excuses! Remember how Joseph ran from Potipher’s wife? (Gen. 39) Well, we must flee sin as well. Joseph is an example of how we can have victory of sin; that is not even entering into a situation where we might be tempted. And Jesus was tempted in the desert and did not sin; this is also an example to us that we can have victory over the Enemy and sin! (Matt. 4:1-11)

Staying in the Word, which is our life line to God, will keep our eyes and hearts focused on the One who is our strength! Just before Psalm 119:11 are a few verses that most people don’t memorize but are just as powerful, “Blessed are they whose ways are blameless, who walk according to the law of the LORD. Blessed are they who keep his statutes and seek him with all their heart. They do nothing wrong; they walk in his ways. You have laid down precepts that are to be fully obeyed. Oh, that my ways were steadfast in obeying you decrees! Then I would not be put to shame when I consider all you commands. I will praise you with an upright heart as I learn you righteous laws. I will obey your decrees; do not utterly forsake me. How can a young man keep his way pure? By living according to your word. I seek you with all my heart; do not let me stray from your commands.” Psalm 1119:1-10.

So, we see that by living according to God’s word, we can enjoy freedom and victory over sin in our lives! Sin, unlike weeds, can be overcome! In Christ, we have victory and freedom! We can live free from guilt and imprisonment! Praise the Lord! Thanks for reading!

