Well, since Gojira has stopped blogging (let’s have a moment of silence…) I guess I’ll have to take up the torch in the fight against false teachers! One false teacher that Gojira never highlighted was Joel Osteen. Yes, the guy with biggest church in the good ‘ol US of A! In case you don’t think there’s something wrong with the American church, when a guy like Joel Osteen pastors the biggest church in our country, you gotta admit that “something’s wrong in river city”, so to speak! Joel is the pastor of Lakewood Church in Houston, Texas. The weekly attendance is 42,000! Can you imagine? Not only is his church the biggest in America, it is the fastest growing!

Joel Osteen should be the poster boy for false teachers (well maybe him and Benny Hinn!). Joel is a glorified motivational speaker. To hear him speak you would hardly know that he’s a christian. He made an appearance on Larry King live in which her was embarrassingly unclear about how to become a Christian! Here’s his apology concerning that flub on national TV…

“It was never my desire or intention to leave any doubt as to what I believe and Whom I serve. I believe with all my heart that it is only through Christ that we have hope in eternal life. I regret and sincerely apologize that I was unclear on the very thing in which I have dedicated my life.”

Joel waxes eloquent about positivism, self-improvement and financial success. Apparently his flock does not mind that he has no formal seminary training (and boy does that show!). Not that everyone must have a seminary degree to teach the word, but it sure does help guard against preaching heresies and false doctrine!

If you want to know something more in depth about Joel’s “ministry” here is a much better written article about Joel which I found on Apprising Ministries, click here to read! Thanks for reading!

