Lately I’ve been reading a lot bloggers who claim to be connoisseurs of fine tobacco, fine wines, micro-brews, exotic chocolate, roasting their own coffee beans or weaving their own extra-soft, quadruple ply toilet paper (OK, I made that part up).  But all the rest is true.  Frankly, it nauseates me! 

I’m not saying that there’s anything wrong with a good cup of coffee, a nice piece of chocolate or some soft TP,   but as long as we’re bragging about our hobbies and our sophisticated taste in fine food and drink, why not boast in something that will last? I am speaking to myself here too!  Galations 6:14 says:

May I never boast except in the cross of our Lord Jesus Christ, through which the world has been crucified to me and I to the world.

Let us remember that the things which charm us in this world are going to fade away.  They will not last!  Just think about how long that cup of coffee satisfies, not too long!  In about an hour after drinking my first cup, I need another and another!  That piece of Lindt chocolate tastes really good for a few fleeting moments, but really, it also doesn’t satisfy for very long!  The things of this life are fleeting!  I Corinthians says,

Therefore, as it is written: “Let him who boasts boast in the Lord.”

So, if we are going to boast about something or someone, let us remember to boast in the one who holds our very souls in his hand-the Lord Jesus Christ! Let us develope our palate to taste him!  To taste his sweetness and his faithfulness and his beauty!  He satifies, completely!  Psalm 34 puts it aptly,

Taste and see that the LORD is good; blessed is the man who takes refuge in him.

Thanks for reading!

