My 3 year old son is a sinner.  I was hoping that the sin nature hadn’t been passed down to him, but lo and behold it was!  Much to my disappointment! 

My son gets into trouble from time to time, as you can imagine!  Most of the time he’s a good kid.  But he has a funny thing he does when he’s doing something he knows he shouldn’t do.  When he is holding something he shouldn’t have (like a pen or a marker) or he’s playing with something he shouldn’t be playing with (like one of my breakable decorations) he’ll turn to me and say “mommy, don’t see it”.  He’s trying to hide his sin, but all the while he’s bringing it to my attention!  It is cute and frustrating at the same time.  It’s cute because he hasn’t figured out that bringing it to my attention is really the last thing he wanted to do, and frustrating because he obviously knows he’s being a bad boy! 

This reminds me of when I’m sinning.  Sometimes I think I’m hiding my sin from others or even from the Lord.  Often I try to “hide” sin.  I may have hidden sins in my life, but really the Lord knows that they are there!  I think of David when he sinned with Bathsheba.  He tried to hide his sin by having Uriah killed.  He thought he was covering his sin up.  In effect he was saying “God, don’t see it.”  And that is exactly what I do, I say “God,  don’t see it.”  But God sees everthing, we cannot hide anything from God!  Hebrews 4:13 says, Nothing in all creation is hidden from God’s sight. Everything is uncovered and laid bare before the eyes of him to who we must give account.

So, next time my little guy says, “mommy, don’t see it”, it will be a reminder to me to get everything out before the Lord, because he sees it anyway.   He just wants us to confess it to him and he will forgive us and wash us clean and teach us how to be holy like him!  1 John 1:9 says, If we confess our sins, he is faithful and just and will forgive us our sins and purify us from all unrighteousness. 

Thanks for reading!

