As we cozy in for the end of fall and the beginning of winter,  we begin to focus on the advent of Christ.  He is truly the the LIGHT of the worldI love this time of year and all the Christmas lights that go up.  Every year our family drives around looking at Christmas lights.  We have a few favorite neighborhoods that have especially good displays.  It is no wonder I love the lights, as this time of year the days are shorter and darker and colder.  The lights are comforting, they add brightness and color to the dreary landscape.  It is the same with Christ.  He is the light of our lives and brings warmth and hope.  Without Christ in my life, I don’t know how I would be able to live in this dark, sinful world.  My own sin is scary enough, let alone the sins of all mankind piled up from the beginning of time.  I praise God for sending his Son to take on the humble body of a human and live as we live so that he could be our sympathetic High Priest and ultimately die for our sins!  He has seen the sins of man, piled high, and he did not shrink back from taking them on!  What an amazing Savior!  The other night my husband and I watched the movie The Nativity Story.  I love the part at the end when Christ is born and Mary is holding him and says “he is for all mankind”.  Truly, he is the most perfect and satisfying gift at Christmas time!  Enjoy THE LIGHT

Isaiah 9:2 The people who walked in darkness have seen a great light; those who dwelt in a land of deep darkness, on them has light shined

John 8:12 Again Jesus spoke to them saying, “I am the light of the world.  Whoever follows me will not walk in darkness, but will have the light of life.”

James 1:17 Every good and perfect gift is from above, coming down from the Father of lights with whom there is no variation or shadow due to change.

