This week has been quite a whirlwind for our family. It began with my husband’s great-grandfather dying on Christmas Eve. We were in Southern California visiting my husband’s family when we heard the sad news. A few days later we drove back home. Two days after getting home my husband and kids were in a wedding. Then on New Years Eve we drove to the funeral for Antone, my husband’s great-grandfather. And today we went to the entombing of Antone. As you can see this week has been one of contrasts!

For a Christian, death is not so crushing as it is for non-believers. Of course it is still extremely difficult and grievous. Antone was 101 years old, so his death was expected. He lived a long and full life, so death seemed very natural. He was pretty senile in the end, so it is a relief to know he is in heaven enjoying clarity once again!

Having never been to a mausoleum, I was sobered by the reality of death. Of course we all know we’ll die. But we don’t think about it everyday. Seeing Antone’s casket pushed into his tomb was sobering. But it was also full of hope and peace. Someday we’ll see him again. Someday, us believer’s will enjoy the Lord’s presence with those who have gone before us!

I have been to only a handful of funerals. I consider it a blessing. The last one I attended was in junior high. Also, I had never viewed a dead body before seeing Antone’s peaceful body last week. What a sobering experience! I was struck with the reality of our bodies as vessels for our spirit. Our soul and spirit fill our body and make it animate.  I am so thankful to the Lord bridging the gap between this earth and heaven!

I know this post has been a bit random. But I am still processing the week’s events! God bless! Thanks for reading!

I declare to you, brothers, that flesh and blood cannot inherit the kingdom of God, nor does the perishable inherit the imperishable. Listen, I tell you a mystery: We will not all sleep, but we will all be changed— in a flash, in the twinkling of an eye, at the last trumpet. For the trumpet will sound, the dead will be raised imperishable, and we will be changed. For the perishable must clothe itself with the imperishable, and the mortal with immortality. When the perishable has been clothed with the imperishable, and the mortal with immortality, then the saying that is written will come true: “Death has been swallowed up in victory.” “Where, O death, is your victory?
Where, O death, is your sting?” The sting of death is sin, and the power of sin is the law. But thanks be to God! He gives us the victory through our Lord Jesus Christ. Therefore, my dear brothers, stand firm. Let nothing move you. Always give yourselves fully to the work of the Lord, because you know that your labor in the Lord is not in vain.

