Well we’re almost two weeks into the New Year and I finally have a New Year’s Resolution. Instead of making a “me” focused resolution, I have been thinking about what the Lord would want me to change. He knows my heart better than me and he knows my struggles. Believe me, I have my own stack of struggles! My resolution came to me the other morning while sharing with my husband a particular struggle that haunts me. I told him how I was praying about it. Quickly, my husband pointed out that the way I was praying was me-oriented; but I should just keep my eyes on the Lord and HE would change my heart and mind concerning my struggles. YES! Thank you husband! (my husband is an amazing man who gently leads me toward the Lord). The Lord has been placing this on my heart over and over again in the last few weeks. Like a theme of sorts. One thing I’ve noticed is that I think about myself A LOT! He gently whispers in my ear, “Keep your eyes on ME!”. Its not easy, but whenever I start to think about myself and obsess over things I can’t control, the Lord reminds me to keep my eyes on him. Looking at HIM puts everything into perspective. He is in control. He loves me no matter what and he is constantly thinking about me (so I don’t have to) and he wants the best for me! Thank you Lord for showing me something I should have learned a long time ago! Thanks for reading! The hymn, Turn your Eyes Upon Jesus, seems very fitting for this post.

O soul, are you weary and troubled?
No light in the darkness you see?
There’s a light for a look at the Savior,
And life more abundant and free!

Refrain

Turn your eyes upon Jesus,
Look full in His wonderful face,
And the things of earth will grow strangely dim,
In the light of His glory and grace.

Through death into life everlasting
He passed, and we follow Him there;
Over us sin no more hath dominion—
For more than conquerors we are!

Refrain

His Word shall not fail you—He promised;
Believe Him, and all will be well:
Then go to a world that is dying,
His perfect salvation to tell!

