I love summer but one thing I dread is the donning of the swimsuit and shorts! Why? Well because I am sad to announce that I have cellulite! Yes, moi! Most of my cellulite is on the back of my thighs and I have noticed that the front of my thighs have begun to lose their elasticity (I fear this is due to age and genetics). I have been a runner most of my adult life (16 years and counting) and I am what is considered a “petite” person. I have never weighed more than 125 (even when pregnant). I try to eat healthy and drink plenty of water. So, why in the world would someone like me still suffer from the dreaded dimple?

Well, I’ve done some basic research on cellulite and have discovered that cellulite affects not just overweight women, but thin women as well! YES! Weight has nothing to do with the exsistance of cellulite! Let’s all breath a sigh of relief! Of course, thinner women have less apparent cellulite. For example, I have noticed that when I am thinner my cellulite is a lot less apparent, it is still there, but not a noticable as when I put on a few pounds. Also, cellulite is vastly more common in women than men. This is due mostly to the difference in philology between men and women. An article in Wikipedia explains this well:

One plausible explanation – which also explains why very few men suffer from cellulite – is based on the composition and behavior of women’s fat cells and the connective tissue that holds them in place. Very simply, a woman’s connective tissue is very inflexible, so as females gain weight their fat cells expand, and tend to bulge upwards towards the surface of the skin, giving the classic orange-peel appearance of cellulite. In men, not only is there generally less fat on the thighs, but also the outer skin is thicker and thus obscures what is happening to any surplus fat below.

Also, cellulite is genetic. So, basically if your mom has cellulite, chances are you do too!

So, what can we do to eradicate this nasty stuff? Well, exercise and healthy eating is the best defense. Dr. Oz (Oprah’s in-house medical expert) says that surgery and other drastic treatments just don’t last or don’t work at all. So, when it comes down to it, it goes back to good old fashioned hard work!

So, next time you are standing in line at the grocery store and one those trashy magazines has photos of celebrities in there swimsuits and their cellulite is very visible, just remember, they are people too! No matter how anorexic they get, they still can’t hide that cottage cheese!

