Today I sat down at my computer and Googled “birthday cakes”.  Why, you ask?  Well, cause my kids have birthdays coming up!  Not only are their birthdays coming up, but their birthdays are one after the other!  Yes, they have back to back birthdays!  My son will be 5 and my daughter will be 8!  I have started a tradition in recent years.  I make them each a special cake.  Although I am not a professional cake decorator, it is pretty do-able to put together a cute personalized cake!  Last year I made my daughter a horsey cake and my son a “cars” cake.   This year my son wants a skateboard cake and my daughter wants a “cowgirl boot” cake.  I found a cute and easy skateboard cake recipe at www.Kraftfoods.com and I Googled “cowgirl boot” and found this recipe which I will make with pink and white frosting and pink m and m’s.  We still have a couple of weeks until their birthdays, but I’ll post pictures of the finished products! So, although I am definitely NOT Martha Stewart, I still manage to “throw together” something special for my kids, and it is fun for me too!  There is no need to stress out over birthdays! We keep the simple, but special!  Check out the Kraft foods site, they have several cute ideas!  (Here’s the recipe for the horsey cake and the cars cake!)

