My husband wrote the following the post.  I wanted to share it, because I think it clearly explains the famine that Christians in America are experiencing as far as sound, Biblical teaching is concerned.  Check out my husband’s blog.

I think the following passage applies quite forcefully to much of American evangelicalism (of course the original context was speaking of the nation of Israel’s future exile because of her idolatry):

Behold, the days are coming, declares the Lord God, when I will send a famine on the land, not a famine for bread or a thirst for water, but rather for hearing the words of the LORD. 12. People will stagger from sea to sea and from the north even to the east; they will go to and fro to seek the word of the LORD, but they will not find it. 13. In that day the beautiful virgins and the young men will faint from thirst. 14. As for those who swear by the guilt of Samaria, who say, as your god lives, O Dan, and, as the way of Beersheba lives, they will fall and not rise again. —Amos 8: 11-14

My family and I have found it exceedingly difficult to find a church that actually teaches scripture. When I say “teaches scripture” I mean a church, a pastor, who actually, and apparently, spends real-time in study. More than that, a pastor who obviously has spent the time exegeting what any given particular context is actually communicating. When the pastor is able to point out how any given text points to Jesus, then I know that he has actually spent the time required for sound biblical teaching.

Typically the kind of teaching my wife and I are subjected to each Sunday is an exercise of Pelagian moralizing. What I mean is that our pastor usually, no matter what the text, tries to find how a particular text is relevant for us today. This appears to be the guiding principle of how and why he studies. Certainly he talks about Jesus, but in a way that Jesus is reduced to an ethical standard or principle—you know, “… what would Jesus do…,”. In other words the sermons start with us, when Scripture starts and ends with Jesus.

As Israel, and her idolatry led to captivity; likewise, American evangelicalism’s desire to be relevant has led her to both idolatry and captivity to American culture.

